Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn

1

The “Je m’en fous” attitude is a real way of life. It begins with a shrug of the shoulders and a blasé look in our teens, and then it never really stops. I’d even dare to say it gets worse with age. Je m’en fous is pure nonchalance. It’s the impression you float in the air above everything in life like it’s so easy to just not care at all. Je m’en fous is a silent rebellion. It’s a phrase that pops into my head at least fifteen times a day to chase away problems as if they were flies. It all seems so easy but the fact is, it requires considerable effort. The art of Je m’en fous is not only a state of mind, it has become a way of life. Fashion has shown us the way. Yes, we tried for years to look pulled together, only to realise that the only thing we wanted is to NOT CARE, our beloved teenager motto.

We undo our hair, rip our jeans, untuck our shirts and venture out with no make up (which is fine for me since I really suck at it). Did we gain time? Certainly not! A succesful je m’en fous look takes ages to achieve in the morning. Lucky for us, we always have the perfect answer to any of those sharp comments about our artistic sloppiness..

Je m’en fous.

4

Le je m’en foutisme, c’est tout un mode de vie. Ça commence à l’adolescence avec les haussements d’épaules et les regards blasés, et puis ça ne s’arrête jamais vraiment. Je dirais même que ça devient bien pire avec l’âge. Je m’en fous, c’est de la nonchalance. C’est l’impression de flotter au-dessus des gens, au-dessus de la vie avec une aisance naturelle et sans y faire vraiment attention. Je m’en fous, c’est un instant de rébellion silencieux. Quinze fois par jour, dans ma tête, une petite voix dit « je m’en fous », et le problème disparait comme on chasserait une mouche d’un léger mouvement de main. Ça a l’air tout simple de s’en foutre comme ça, mais en vérité, ça demande beaucoup d’effort. Le je m’en foutisme, c’est pas seulement un état d’esprit, c’est, comme je l’ai déjà dit, un vrai mode de vie. Et ça, la mode l’a bien compris. Après avoir essayé pendant des années d’avoir l’air tiré à quatre épingles, on a décidé de jeter nos épingles et de se rabattre sur ce motto spirituel d’adolescents: je m’en fous.

On défait savamment nos cheveux, déchire nos jeans, rentre nos chemises « à moitié » et on a définitivement banni l’eyeliner de la salle de bain (je n’ai jamais su le mettre de toute façon). Avons-nous gagné du temps ? Certainement pas ! C’est tout un art de s’en foutre avec classe, et ça fait perdre un temps dingue le matin. Heureusement, nous avons la réponse toute prête au moindre commentaire pinçant concernant notre tenue méthodiquement débraillée. Je m’en fous.

5

7

12

8

What I wear: Rad shirt | The Sting jeans & cardigan | Scotch & Soda, Weekday necklaces

Lots of Gingerlove,

-R

2 thoughts on “Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn

  1. These photos are the perfect tone to compliment the attitude that you’re talking about. The ability to stay centered and “not care” is totally an art and it definitely describes the fashion I’m most drawn to. Great article!

    Like

Leave a Reply

